>Jon’s Enchiladas

>

These are named after Jon because they’re his favorite.
I’m making a huge batch tonight because he has to fend for himself for the next week while I’m in Chicago for Christmas. Ironically, I am sure he will eat all of this before Christmas Day even arrives.

This is no adventure for me…I make them all the time. So I’ll share the recipe.

It’s a different take on enchiladas. No red sauce. No green chili. Tons of fat. Oh, and I don’t roll up my enchiladas in tortillas. So it is more of a casserole. I love corn tortillas for enchiladas, not flour. But they always fall apart on me, so I adapted my recipe.

Jon’s Enchiladas
For filling:
1 lb chicken breast
1 onion, chopped
8 oz cream cheese, room temp
salt
pepper
chile powder (I’ve been using ancho chili powder lately, it’s awesome)
1 cup cheddar cheese

For sauce:
1 cup milk
8 oz sour cream
1 small can of green chiles
1 can cream of chicken soup

corn tortillas
cheddar cheese to top
other optional toppings: black olives, green onions

1. Cook chicken however you’d like – grill, bake, boil, etc. Crock pot works great. I’ve cooked my chicken and onion together in my crock pot with chicken broth and chile powder all day before – the chicken falls apart so well.
2. Shred chicken. Mix together with onion, cream cheese, and seasonings.
3. For sauce: bring milk to a boil. Add other ingredients, simmer 10 min.
5. Line bottom of casserole dish with corn tortillas. Spoon in chicken filling. Cover with corn tortillas. Pour sauce over casserole.
6. Bake 20-25 minutes at 350 or until bubbly.
7. Remove from oven and top with cheese. Bake 10 min.

Enjoy!

About meganbrocato

Megan is a self-proclaimed foodie. Born in New Orleans, raised in Chicago, and now residing in Denver,Colorado, she has been exposed to quite the variety of cuisines and dining cultures. Onions and Garlic was launched in December 2010 as a platform to share recipes and foodie facts.

Posted on December 22, 2010, in casserole, enchiladas, Mexican. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

