Grilled Chicken and Asparagus (and Berry Cobbler for dessert!)

Hello world!

Notice my new format, theme, and web address. I’ve migrated my blog to WordPress. I’d been using WordPress for my blog at 303 Magazine, and I liked the format so much more that I decided to make the switch. Nothing has changed on the blog’s content and you can still find all my old posts here. But, I unfortunately had to add the number zero to pose as the letter O, since someone on WordPress apparently already has this domain? LAME!

Anyways…

I’ve been frequenting Sunflower Market a lot more than the regular grocery stores. It’s not 100% organic, but they do have a lot of that kind of stuff on their shelves. The biggest bonus is that it is sooooo cheap! 2 lbs of strawberries for $5? Don’t mind if I do! 2 pints of blueberries for $3? Yes, please! So, I usually snatch up lots of fresh produce there (oh, and 2 Hass avocados for $1!).

With all this food blogging and cooking and eating, I’ve been packing on the lb’s. Ugh. That is to be expected. Unfortunately, my lovely boyfriend is a country boy through and through, and “light” meals aren’t exactly in his vocabulary. I guess he loves me enough to try though, because on Friday night he bought some boneless skinless chicken breasts and fresh asparagus to grill (plus, it was 70+ degrees on April 1st…grilling just seemed natural). So, I stopped off at Sunflower and picked up some country wild rice to go along with the meal.

The asparagus are easy – lemon juice, salt, pepper – and on the grill they go. But the chicken needed some spunk so I made a marinade…

Honey Dijon Marinade

1/4 cup dijon mustard

juice from 2 lemons

1/2 cup EVOO

2 tablespoons soy sauce

salt and pepper to taste

Country wild rice can pretty much stand alone…but I cooked in 1 cup chicken broth and 1 cup water, brought that to a boil, and added 1 cup of the rice. Yummy and healthy whole grains!

Since the boyfriend was such a good sport about me trying to eat healthy and all, I decided to make some cobbler – one of his favorite desserts. Of course, I dug out the Bon Appetit behemoth, and turned to the “fruit desserts” sections (because this book is that awesome) and found a peach cobbler recipe that I decided I could adapt.

Mixed Berry Cobbler                           

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Topping:

1 cup self-rising flour

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 stick chilled butter, cut into 1/2 inch cubes

1 cup chilled buttermilk

1 large egg, beaten

1 teaspoon vanilla

Filling:

1 lb strawberries

1 pint blueberries

juice of 1 lemon

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 stick butter (for the pan)

1. Mix berries, lemon juice, and sugar in a medium sized mixing boil and set aside.

2. Stir flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a large mixing bowl, and mix in butter with your hands until mixture becomes coarse.

3. Transfer to a standing mixer, and add buttermilk, egg, and vanilla. Mix until well blended and no lumps remain in the batter.

4.  Melt 1/2 stick butter into a 9×9 baking dish in the oven.

5. When butter is melted, pour fruit mixture into the baking pan and pour the topping over the fruit.

6. Bake at 400 degrees F for 40 minutes.

7. Let cool, and serve with Blue Bell vanilla ice cream. (YES, it has to be Blue Bell!!!)

The lemon and the buttermilk give this cobbler a little extra tang – something you don’t usually taste in a cobbler.

Five stars from the foodie!

Stay tuned for my report of Cochon555 which I am attending this evening in Downtown Denver. Check out my latest post at 303magazine.com/author/megan-brocato to get the scoop on the swine and wine feast!

About meganbrocato

Megan is a self-proclaimed foodie. Born in New Orleans, raised in Chicago, and now residing in Denver,Colorado, she has been exposed to quite the variety of cuisines and dining cultures. Onions and Garlic was launched in December 2010 as a platform to share recipes and foodie facts.

Posted on April 3, 2011, in Asparagus, Berries, Chicken, Desserts, Grilled, Whole Grains and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

