Sweet Potato Tartlets

I made these to go with a pork roast, which I would have blogged about except for the fact that once I tasted these the pork became seemingly less delicious and uninteresting. In fact, I ate about 2 bites of pork and about 5 of these.

Of course, in true Megan OCD form, I had bought sweet potatoes 4 days in advance because that’s how I grocery shop – on Sundays and for the whole week. (You wanna hang out on Wednesday? Sorry, I’ve got a date with an eggplant. Seriously. I’m that weird.) I was thinking I could just mash them and make a quick Thanksgiving-like sweet potato casserole. But then that would have involved another dirty dish and the pile was big and I’d spent 20 hours in the clinic at that point in the week. In other words, I was feeling lazy and needed an idea so I turned to my new bff Smitten Kitchen.

Not that I want you to read anyone else’s food blog except for mine, but she’s a true inspiration. She’s wonderful. And her kitchen is only 42 sq feet in an apartment in NYC. And she’s got a recipe for everything, including sweet potatoes.

I landed on this recipe for sweet potatoes with pecans and goat cheese and fell in love. Pecans + sweet potatoes makes for a heavenly combination. I would know, seeing as I made a sweet potato casserole with a pecan streusel last Thanksgiving. As you’d expect, the catch to this fabulous discovery is that I did not have pecans and was obviously not running to the store considering that this whole recipe hunt had begun because I was lazy.

But I did have walnuts. And since goat cheese is the most delicious form of cultured milk on the planet, I definitely had a little log of that in the fridge. So, smittenkitchen.com, thanks for the inspiration.

Sweet Potato Tartlets

2 large sweet potatoes, sliced into medallions

1/2 cup evoo

2 tablespoons brown sugar

1/2 cup walnuts, coarsely chopped

1/4 cup goat cheese, crumbled

preheat oven to 375 degrees

1. Lay sweet potatoes evenly on a baking sheet.

2. Whisk brown sugar and evoo together in a small bowl and drizzle over sweet potatoes.

3. Bake for 20-30 minutes or until sweet potatoes are tender. While baking, mix together cheese and nuts.

4.  Remove sweet potatoes from the oven and top with nut and cheese mixture. Return to oven and toast for 5-10 minutes.

 

*By the way, don’t call these yams. Those “candied yams” that you have at Thanksgiving are only marketed like that in the US South (and I have no idea why). You can read about the differences here. The orange flesh of the real deal is super rich in beta carotene, just like carrots. It’s good for your eyes and your skin, but a true yam is incredibly low in the vitamin. Don’t be fooled!

About meganbrocato

Megan is a self-proclaimed foodie. Born in New Orleans, raised in Chicago, and now residing in Denver,Colorado, she has been exposed to quite the variety of cuisines and dining cultures. Onions and Garlic was launched in December 2010 as a platform to share recipes and foodie facts.

Posted on April 11, 2011, in Vegetables. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

